LaunchSignal

Guides

LaunchSignal vs Product Hunt: submitting and being found when an AI agent does the launching

This is a comparison on our own site, so read it knowing that. I've tried to stick to what each platform says about itself, link every claim, and say plainly where Product Hunt is the better choice. In a lot of cases it is.

The question here is narrow. Some launches now start with a coding agent that has just shipped the thing and gets asked to "put it out there". So: what can an agent actually do on each platform, and how does each one get found by assistants afterwards? For a broader look at launch platforms, see Product Hunt alternatives for indie and AI makers, which compares eight other places to launch.

Everything below was checked on October 22, 2026. "Not stated" means I couldn't find it in the platform's own pages or docs.

Side by side

Product Hunt LaunchSignal
Cost to submit Free [1] Free to publish [8][9]
Who can submit A personal account; company accounts can't hunt or post. New accounts finish onboarding first [2] Anyone with a product URL and a contact email, through the form, the API or MCP [8][10]
How a person submits Sign in, click Post or Submit, enter the URL, then fill in name, tagline, topics, thumbnail, gallery, description and first comment, and schedule a date [1][2] The form at /submit, which the docs call secondary [8]
How an agent submits The published GraphQL schema has no mutation for creating a post; its mutations cover goals and following users [6]. Apps are read-only by default, and write access is partial and granted on request [5] POST /api/v1/products with JSON (name, url, description, category, email; optional logo_url), or the MCP tool submit_product [8][10][11]
Auth for an agent An OAuth access token for every API request [5] None for submitting or reading; the API and MCP are public. The docs warn about rate limits and moderation [8]
What the agent gets back Not applicable (no post-creation mutation in the published schema [6]) 201 with status: "pending" and a slug, or a named error code: missing_fields, invalid_url, rejected_policy, duplicate_domain, rate_limited and others [8][10]
Review The team reviews each submission and decides which launches are featured on the homepage; not every product is [3] Every listing is reviewed by people before it goes live, and stays pending until approved [8][9]
What decides visibility Featuring by the team [3], then a homepage score that combines votes, engagement and more [4]. Launches go live at 12:01 AM Pacific [2] Approved listings appear on browse and category pages and in API reads [8]. No voting or launch day is described [8][9]
Machine-readable reads GraphQL API for Product Hunt data with a token [5]; commercial use needs permission [5] Public JSON reads (GET /api/v1/products, /api/v1/products/{slug}) with open CORS, plus MCP list_products and get_product [8][10]
llms.txt Yes: explains product, alternatives, reviews, category and leaderboard pages, and asks for attribution [4] Yes: explains the site, API, MCP and error codes, and notes it isn't affiliated with other products of the same name [8]
OpenAPI spec Not stated Yes, /openapi.json [11]
MCP Not stated on official pages. A community-built server that wraps the official API exists; it says it isn't affiliated with Product Hunt [7] Yes, public Streamable HTTP endpoint at /mcp [8][12]
Community and feedback Upvotes, comments, reviews, forums, leaderboards, and the yearly Golden Kitty Awards [1][4] None built in; it's a listing site
Launch-day event Yes. Launches compete daily for Product of the Day, Week and Month [4] No. It's a listing, not a launch-day event [13]

Sources

  1. Product Hunt Launch Guide, https://www.producthunt.com/launch
  2. Product Hunt: How to post a product, https://help.producthunt.com/en/articles/479557-how-to-post-a-product
  3. Product Hunt Featuring Guidelines, https://help.producthunt.com/en/articles/9883485-product-hunt-featuring-guidelines
  4. Product Hunt llms.txt, https://www.producthunt.com/llms.txt
  5. Product Hunt API 2.0 docs, https://api.producthunt.com/v2/docs
  6. Product Hunt API schema (official repository), https://github.com/producthunt/producthunt-api/blob/master/schema.graphql
  7. Community Product Hunt MCP server (third party), https://github.com/jaipandya/producthunt-mcp-server
  8. LaunchSignal llms.txt, https://launchsignal.ai/llms.txt
  9. LaunchSignal About, https://launchsignal.ai/about
  10. LaunchSignal API docs, https://launchsignal.ai/docs/api
  11. LaunchSignal OpenAPI, https://launchsignal.ai/openapi.json
  12. LaunchSignal MCP endpoint, https://launchsignal.ai/mcp
  13. Where to launch a new product: free channels compared, https://launchsignal.ai/guides/free-launch-channels

Where Product Hunt is the better choice

Product Hunt also asks makers not to request upvotes directly [1]. That's a good rule, and one more reason launch day is a job for people, not for an agent.

Where LaunchSignal fits better

Using both

These two don't compete for the same moment, so you don't have to choose. A sensible order for an agent-run release:

  1. The agent submits to the listing sites it can reach through an API or MCP, and keeps the slug or ID from each response.
  2. A human plans the Product Hunt launch: assets, first comment, a date they can actually be around for.
  3. Once the listings are approved, the agent checks each one reads correctly: same name, same one-line description, working link.

How to have an AI agent submit your product walks through step 1 with curl and MCP examples. How AI assistants find and recommend new products covers what happens after.

The short version: Product Hunt is where people meet your launch, and an agent-readable listing is where machines can find it later. Many products can use both.